byline

A Source for Workplace Safety News and Notes - from ComplianceSigns.com

December 23, 2013

Illinois Bans Handheld Devices for All Drivers Starting January 1

hands free only in Illinois
Illinois Hands-Free Device Sign
An Illinois law prohibiting driving while using handheld cell phones and similar electronic communications devices goes into effect Jan. 1, 2014. The law allows hands-free devices.

House Bill 1247 prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle on any road in Illinois while using a mobile phone or other electronic communication device. The bill makes exceptions for two-way radios and hands-free devices, including those with headsets that can initiate a call using a single button or a voice command. Fines for first offenses are set at $75. For subsequent violations the fines are $100, $125 and $150.

Related to the new hands-free law, House Bill 2585 increases penalties that can be imposed on drivers whose use of an electronic device while driving causes an accident. If the accident causes great bodily harm, the driver can be sentenced to up to one year in prison, and a fatal accident can result in a prison sentence of one to three years. Current law only allows these drivers to be charged with traffic violations.

ComplianceSigns.com, based in Chadwick, IL, has developed a variety of signs and labels to remind Illinois drivers of the new law. Options include post- and surface-mount signs, self-adhesive labels and clear stickers to mount on vehicle windows.

No comments:

Post a Comment